Province of Agusan del Norte

Province of





Agusan del Nortelies at the coordinates 9° north latitude and 125° and 30 minutes east longitude on the northeastern part of Mindanao Island, Philippines. 

Butuan Bay and the province of Surigao del Norte bound it on the north, Agusan del Sur on the south, Surigao del Sur on the east and Misamis Oriental on the west.

Land Area

Agusan del Norte has 273,024 hectares of total land area to manage in order to satisfy the  needs of its residents, and to contribute to regional and national development. Table II-I indicates the subdivision of the area among the municipalities.

Political Subdivision

The place is one of the 82 provinces of the Philippines and one of the 5 that comprise the Caraga Region (Region XIII). Within its territory are 1 city and 10 municipalities that have on their expanse a total of 167 barangays.

The component city is Cabadbaran and the 10 municipalities are BuenavistaCarmenJabongaKitcharaoLas NievesMagallanesNasipitRemedios T. RomualdezSantiago, and Tubay.

Butuan City, its previous capital, is still the seat of the provincial government as of 2010 and will continue to serve as such until the base of operations is transferred to Cabadbaran, the new administrative center.

Based on the CBMS 2007 Survey, the province has a total of 1,095 puroks in the following city/municipalities, to wit:  Cabadbaran (184), Buenavista (200), Carmen (76), Jabonga (90), Kitcharao (59), Las Nieves (131), Magallanes (56), Nasipit (113), RTR (58), Santiago (55) and Tubay (40).

© Provincial Government of Agusan del Norte 2020

•Powered by Python & React.js•